Saints Mini Project, Spring 2023 (Theology II, Mr. Mothes, Ms. Kazan, Ms. Wittschen): Home

Use authoritative sources (library databases and books from the library). Please DO NOT start with a Google search
 

Start your research by doing the following:

1. Search the Gale EBook library database
   • The Gale Ebook database is in the alphabetical list of databases on the left hand side of library webpage
   • This database has at least one article on all but two of the saints (Some saints have two or three articles written about them). The articles are from either a biographical encyclopedia or a religion encyclopedia.
      
2. Search multiple library databases at once using the One Search Discovery search (the yellow box on main library website) to find articles about your Saint in other library databases
   
    
3. Search the Online Catalog to see if there are books in our library about your saint. We have many books about saints in our collection.
   • Biographies are shelved upstairs. Call numbers start with BIO 920 or BIO 921
   • Some examples of the collective biographies that we have are:
     One Hundred Saints   BIO 920 ONE
     The Big Book of Women Saints, by Sarah Gallick   BIO 920 GAL
     The Treasury of Saints and Martyrs by Margaret Mulvihill  BIO 920 MUL

After completing these three steps, many of you will be able to find three sources on your saint from the library resources

If you haven't found enough sources: 

1. Make sure you're searching for the saint correctly. Look at the right hand side of this research guide to see other search suggestions
    
2. If you think you're doing everything correctly but still can't find three authoritative sources, please speak with either Ms. Jewell or Ms. Burke, or talk with your teacher

Searching for people can sometimes be tricky. Here are some tips: 

1. Start by searching only their name. Do not include Saint or St.
   Examples: Rose of Lima or Kateri Tekakwitha 
    
2. Double check that you're spelling their name properly
    
3. See if there is another way to spell your saint's name or a different way of referring to them
   Hint: read an article to see if it gives a different spelling. You can also look at your search results to see if the article titles spell the name differently or refer to the saint differently 
    
4. Put quotation marks around your saint's name to see if you get different results
   Example: "John Paul II"
    
5. If you're getting a lot of information about other items other than your saint, you might want to add in the word Saint, or the word biography
   Example: "John Paul II" and Pope  ; "Rose of Lima" and biography

Remember that you need to cite your sources.   Many of the articles you find in our library databases were originally in print.  For example, articles from the Gale Ebooks database are encyclopedia articles originally in print, accessed online.

As a reminder: works cited lists should be in alphabetical order by the first item in the citation, double spaced, and if a citation goes onto more than one line, the other lines (2nd, 3rd, 4th line) should be indented.

Below are some links to help with citations.