You will need to use at least two sources (books) for this assignment. Books are on the yellow cart in the library.
One source is the Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. It's a four volume set, arranged in alphabetical order (by last name of person). All students should use this encyclopedia for their assignment.
Another recommended book is a multivolume encyclopedia set called the Encyclopedia of World Biography. The volumes are arranged in alphabetical order by last name, and the volumes can be found on the cart.
If you are researching a woman, we recommend the Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia. The volumes that have the women in the list have been placed on the cart.
Additionally, articles for some people can be found in the New Catholic Encyclopedia and the Encyclopedia of Philosophy (volumes of each are on the yellow cart).
Below is a list of other books on the Enlightenment from our collection. Most of the books are on the shelf Look at the Call Number after the title for where to look for the book. You can also speak with a librarian if you need help finding a book. Remember to look at the table of contents and index to find information about your assigned person in the book.
On the yellow cart:
Historic World Leaders, edited by Anne Commire and Deborah Klezmer. Call number: REF 920.02 HIS
On the shelf:
An Age of Science and Revolutions: 1600-1800, by Toby E. Huff. Call number: 909.6 HUF
Being Human: Core Readings in the Humanities. Call number: 128 BEI
Capital Punishment: A Reference Handbook, by Michael Kronenwetter. Call number: 364.6 KRO (contains info on Beccaria)
Democracy Reader: Classic and Modern Speeches, Essays, Poems, Declarations, and Documents on Freedom and Human Rights Worldwide, edited by Diane Ravitch and Abigail Thernstrom. Call number: REF 323.44 DEM
Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald M. Borchert. Call number: REF 103 ENC
The Enlightenment, by John M. Dunn. Call number: 940.2 DUN
The Enlightenment, by Roy Porter. Call number: 940.2 POR
The Enlightenment: A Sourcebook and Reader, edited by Paul Hyland, Olga Gomez and Francesca Greensides. Call number: 940.2 ENL
The Enlightenment: A Very Short Introduction, by John Robertson. Call number: 940.2 ROB
New Catholic Encyclopedia (multiple volumes). No call number, in the Reference section (in the REF 200s)
The 100 Most Influential Women of All Time: A Ranking Past and Present, by Deborah G. Felder. Call number: REF 920.72 FEL
Science and Religion, 1450-1900: From Copernicus to Darwin, by Richard G. Olson. Call number: 261.5 OLS
The Swerve: How the World Became Modern, by Stephen Greenblatt. Call number: 940.2 GRE
Women Rulers Throughout the Ages: An Illustrated Guide, by Guida M. Jackson. Call number: REF 920.72 JAC
You always need to cite what sources you used in your research, to give credit for any idea that is not yours.
What do I need to hand in for my citations?
For this assignment, you will cite the sources you use by doing the following steps.
1) First, take a photo of:
2) Import the photographs into Notability, and enlarge each photo so it is the full size of one page. Your Notability document will have 4 pages, 1 photo on each page, with the photo being the full size of the page.
3) Circle and label the parts of the book on each page that you need for a citation. (For example, on the title page, you would circle the title of the book, and label it as the title, then circle the volume, and label the volume, and so forth).
4) Repeat the three steps above for each source (book) you used.
5) Create a citation for each source, following proper MLA format, and create a Works Cited list for the sources you used.
6) For help formatting a citation in a Works Cited list, look at sample citations from the What Information Do You Include in a Citation handout (also linked at the bottom of this section and I gave you a hard copy in class). You can also refer to the Rules for Written Assignments for an example of a Works Cited page (see page 37-41).
7) Print out 1) the labeled pages for each book, stapled together, and 2) your Works Cited list, and hand both of those in to your Modern World History teacher.
8) Remember to write your name at the top of the first page of the printouts, and staple all four pages together. You will do this for each source, so if you used two books, you would hand in two stapled packets.
9) You can look at an example of a labeled article from an encyclopedia (article is also located at the bottom of this section) to make sure you've labeled your packet correctly.
What information do you include in a citation?
When citing information from books, you usually provide the following information, IN THIS ORDER:
If you found an article in an online database, you also need to include information about the database. Look at page two of the handout What Do You Need to Include in a Citation (handout is also found at the bottom of this section) for an example of how to cite an article in a library database. You can also look at page 25 of the Rules for Written Assignments for how to cite an encyclopedia article in a library database.
When using an online database, you add the following at the end of your citation:
Below are two handouts to help with citing. The first one lists the information you need to include in a citation, with some color-coded examples (I handed this to you when you came to the library).
The second handout is an example of the printouts of what you should be handing in. In this example, anything written in black ink should be what you write on your handouts. Anything written in red ink is an explanation for you as the student; you do not write that on your paper):